The MERB office is in full operation - For your safety and ours, please contact us by telephone or email. Please be safe! More Info logo

Merit Employee Relations Board

Providing timely disposition of Merit employee grievance and maintenance review classification appeals.

Board Members

W. Michael Tupman
Sussex County
Paul R. Houck
Sussex County
Jacqueline D. Jenkins, EdD
City of Wilmington
Victoria D. Cairns
Kent County
Sheldon N. Sandler, Esq.
New Castle County


The MERB consists of five (5) Board members, including two (2) management representatives, two (2) labor representatives and a Chair.

Board members are appointed by the Governor, with Senate approval, for a term of three (3) years, or until their successors are appointed.

Board members must be residents of Delaware for at least three (3) years immediately preceding appointment.

One (1) member shall reside in the City of Wilmington, one (1) shall reside in the remainder of New Castle County, one (1) shall reside in Kent County and one (1) in Sussex County. The fifth (5th) member may reside anywhere in the State.

Related Topics: